ACM Symposium on Software Visualization

September 16-17 2008, Herrsching am Ammersee, Germany

Co-Located with IEEE VL/HCC'08 and Diagrams'08

Don't miss the SoftVis Dinner ! (Wed 19:30 at the conference center)
Advance Program (PDF)
Online Registration open !!!
SOFTVIS'08 Call for Papers (PDF, plain text)
SOFTVIS'08 Call for Posters (HTML)
SOFTVIS'08 Keynote (HTML)

SOFTVIS is sponsored by ACM SIGCHI, SIGGRAPH, SIGPLAN and SIGSOFT, and in cooperation with ACM SIGCSE.

Important Dates

Papers Due:
11 April 2008

20 June 2008

16-17 September 2008


see related information on VL/HCC08 website

Travel and Venue

see related information on VL/HCC08 website


General chair:
Rainer Koschke, University of Bremen, Germany

Program co-chairs:
Christopher Hundhausen, Washington State University, USA

Alexandru Telea, Groningen University, Netherlands
Software visualization encompasses the development and evaluation of methods for graphically representing different aspects of software, including its structure, its abstract and concrete execution, and its evolution. The ACM Symposium on Software Visualization, now at its fourth edition, is the premiere forum for researchers from different backgrounds (HCI, software engineering, programming languages, visualization, and computer science education) to present original research on software visualization. We seek theoretical as well as practical papers on applications, techniques, tools, case studies, and empirical studies. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:
  • Visualization of algorithms
  • Visualization in software engineering, e.g. UML diagrams
  • Visualization-based software in computer science and software engineering education
  • Visualization of workflow and business processes
  • Integration of software visualization tools and development environments
  • Visualization of data and processes in applications
  • Visualization of web services
  • Visualization of software evolution
  • Visualization of the software development process
  • Visualization of data base schemes
  • Protocol and log visualization (security, trust)
  • Source code visualization
  • Graph algorithms for software visualization
  • Visual debugging
  • 3D software visualization
  • Software visualization on the internet
  • Empirical evaluation of software visualization
Papers should present original, unpublished results and will be rigorously reviewed by an international program committee. Papers must be in standard ACM 2-column format and cannot exceed 10 pages in total length. Authors should prepare and electronically submit a PDF version of their paper following the instructions for authors of conferences sponsored by ACM SIGGRAPH. Videos not exceeding 5 minutes in length can accompany a paper submission. Some hints for prospective authors are available online.

In addition to technical papers, we are also looking for poster submissions. Posters offer the opportunity to present new ideas and work in progress during an interactive session. Authors should prepare and submit poster descriptions of up to 2 pages in ACM two-column format. Accepted poster submissions will be included in the conference proceedings.
International Program Committee
Margaret Burnett, Oregon State University, USA
Arie van Deursen, Delft University / CWI, Netherlands
Stephan Diehl, Trier University, Germany
Holger Eichelberger, Univ. of Hildesheim, Gemany
Harald Gall, University of Zürich, Switzerland
John Hosking, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Eileen Kraemer, The University of Georgia, USA
Andreas Kerren, University of Växjö, Sweden
Michele Lanza, University of Lugano, Switzerland
Jonathan I. Maletic, Kent State University, USA
Hausi Müller, University of Victoria, Canada
Lauri Malmi, Helsinki U Techn., Finland
Andrian Marcus, Wayne State University
Malcolm Munro, University of Durham, UK
Tom Naps, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh, USA
N. Hari Narayanan, Auburn University, USA
Wim De Pauw, IBM Research, USA
Marian Petre, Open University, UK
Emmanuel Pietriga, INRIA, France
Helen Purchase, University of Glasgow, UK
Steven Reiss, Brown University, USA
Jürgen Rilling, Concordia University, Canada
Susan Rodger, Duke University, USA
Jorma Sajaniemi, Univ. of Joensuu, Finland
John Stasko, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Margaret-Anne Storey, University of Victoria, Canada